2018 Endorsements

Empowering People-driven political leadership to achieve economic, Social, and environmental justice

Each candidate listed below has demonstrated clearly, by their past actions and present involvement in civic and community affairs, that they understand and embrace the principle of “people-driven” political leadership. In addition, each candidate has shown a high level of competence and experience in working with government and political systems. Most importantly, all are committed to pursuing a bold agenda in support of economic, social and environmental justice.

Hawaiʻi State Senate

Brenda Ford.jpg

Brenda Ford, Senate District 3 (Kona, Kaʻu)

Heather Kimball.jpg

Heather Kimball, Senate District 4 (Hilo, Hamakua, Kohala, Waimea, Waikoloa, Kona


Terez Amato, Senate District 6 (South and West Maui)

Sharon Moriwaki.jpg

Sharon Moriwaki, Senate District 12 (Waikiki, Ala Moana, Kakaʻako, McCully, Moʻiliʻili)

Matt LoPresti.jpg

Matt LoPresti, Senate District 19 (ʻEwa Beach, Ocean Pointe, ʻEwa by Gentry, Iroquois Point, ʻEwa Villages)


Jarrett Keohokalole, Senate District 24 (Kaneʻohe, MCBH, Kailua, Heʻeia, ʻAhuimanu)


Hawaiʻi State House of Representatives

Raina Whiting.jpg

Raina Whiting, House District 3 (Hilo, Keaʻau, Kurtistown, Volcano)


Richard Creagan, House District 5 (Naʻalehu, Ocean View, Capt. Cook, Kealakekua, Kailua-Kona)

Tina Wildberger.jpg

Tina Wildberger, House District 11 (Kihei, Wailea, Makena)

Tiare Lawrence.png

Tiare Lawrence, House District 12 (Sprecklesville, Pukalani, Makawao, Kula, Keokea, ʻUlupalakua, Kahului)


Benton Rodden, House District 23 (Manoa, University, Moʻiliʻili)

Sonny Ganaden.jpg

Sonny Ganaden, House District 30 (Sand Island, Mokauea, Kapalama, Kalihi Kai


Amy Perruso, House District 46 (Wahiawa, Whitmore Village

Natalia Hussey-Burdick.jpg

Natalia Hussey-Burdick, House District 49 (Kaneʻohe, Maunawili, Olomana)

City and County of Honolulu - Kauaʻi County - Hawaiʻi County - Maui County


Ikaika Hussey, Honolulu Council, District VI 


Mason Chock, Kauaʻi County Council, At Large


Felicia Cowden, Kauaʻi County Council, At Large

web1_A.-Roversi-Head-Shot (1).jpg

Adam Roversi, Kauaʻi County Council, At Large

Eileen Ohara 2.jpg

Eileen OʻHara, Hawaiʻi Council, District 4


Maile David, Hawaiʻi County, District 6

Rebecca .jpg

Rebecca Villegas, Hawaiʻi Council, District 7

Karen Eoff.jpg

Karen Eoff, Hawaiʻi Council, District 8

Maya Parish pic 2 300dpi cropped (1).jpg

Maya Parish, Hawaiʻi County, District 9


Alika Atay, Maui County Council, Wailuku-Waiheʻe-Waikapu


Kelly King, Maui County Council, South Maui

Keani TEAL Headshot250.jpg

Keani Rawlins-Fernandez, Maui County Council, Molokai


Gabriel Johnson, Maui County Council, Lanaʻi


Tasha Kama, Maui County Council, Kahului

hannibal starbuck.jpg

Hannibal Starbuck, Maui County Council, Upcountry


Tamara Paltin, Maui County Council, West Maui


Shane Sinenci, Maui County Council, East Maui


Trinette Furtado, Maui County Council, Makawao-Haʻiku-Paʻia


*The PHI endorsement process was conducted over several weeks and in consultation with residents statewide. The first level of review was completed via a questionnaire sent to all candidates. Interviews were then scheduled with those candidates who returned the questionnaire and whose responses met certain criteria (a shared world view), and who met basic criteria (community roots, some record of involvement/accomplishment, etc.) pertaining to electability. Further consultation was made with constituents within the district and others who were personally familiar with the candidate. In situations when two or more candidates competing in the same race both met our endorsement criteria, no endorsement was made.